Menu

Tuition and Fees

Affordable cost is one of the many advantages of a community college. This is especially true for students planning to earn a Bachelor's degree. By taking their freshman and sophomore years at BCC before transferring to a baccalaureate institution these students can save thousands of dollars on the cost of their education.

BCC charges tuition, a college service fee, and a technology fee for every registered credit. The actual cost per credit depends on whether the student is taking day, evening and/or online courses and the student's residency. The total cost per semester depends on the number of credits the student takes, the cost of books and supplies, travel to and from BCC, and any additional expenses and fees. Students and parents should also note that there are several ways to further reduce the cost of a college education. These include financial aid, a statewide MassTransfer program, and the higher education tax incentives provided by the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997.

To determine tuition and fees, you should carefully read the following section. If you audit a course, you'll pay the same rates as students taking the course for credit.

Read more about Auditing Courses

Day Courses

The tuition and fees for day courses, defined as courses that begin before 4:00 PM on Monday through Friday during the Fall and Spring semester, are based on the student's residency as shown below.

Evening & Online Courses

All evening and online courses are charged the Massachusetts resident rates (see below). Evening courses are defined as:

  • All courses starting at or after 4:00 PM;
  • All courses held on weekends; and
  • All courses offered during the summer.

Cost by Residency

  • Massachusettes Residents

    The following rates apply to Massachusetts residents for day courses; and to all students, regardless of residency, for evening and online courses:

    • Tuition — $26 per credit
    • College Service Fee — $173 per credit
    • Technology Fee — $24 per credit
    • Total — $223 per credit

    To qualify, a student must:

    1. Be a Massachusetts resident for at least six months prior to the start of a semester, and;
    2. Submit a completed residency form to the Registrar's office. Students who do not submit a residency form will be assessed out-of-state rates.
  • New England & New York Residents

    The following rates apply to New England (other than Massachusetts) and New York residents for day courses:

    • Tuition — $39 per credit
    • College Service Fee — $173 per credit
    • Technology Fee — $24 per credit
    • Total — $236 per credit
  • All Other Students

    The following rates apply to international students and all other out-of-state residents for day courses:

    • Tuition — $260 per credit
    • College Service Fee — $173 per credit
    • Technology Fee — $24 per credit
    • Total — $457 per credit
  • Senior Citizens

    Senior Citizens who are legal residents of Massachusetts, and 60 years of age or older, may qualify for a categorical tuition waiver. With the waiver, seniors pay no tuition and about one-third the credit course fees paid by non-senior students. 

    Qualified seniors who are non-degree students are issued a "space available" tuition waiver. Space available means that there is a sufficient paid enrollment to meet minimum class-size requirements, but the course is not full. Space available registration generally begins about two weeks before the start of each semester. Specific registration dates and fee amounts are announced in the semester registration schedule.

    Seniors can choose to take courses either for credit or on an audit basis. For more info, see Community Education and Workforce Development.

    How to Apply for a Tuition Waiver

    Application forms for the tuition waiver are available in the Registrar's Office

    Completed forms should be submitted along with proof of age, e.g., driver's license. If qualified, the Registrar's Office will issue a tuition waiver certificate good for one academic year at a time.

Additional Fees

Fees listed below are for the 2018-2019 Academic Year. If applicable, students may also be charged the following additional fees:

  • Program Fees

    Program Name

    Per-Semester Cost*

    Nursing (Associate Degree)

    $300.00

    Practical Nursing $100.00
    Physical Therapy Assistant $250.00
    Respiratory Care $125.00
    Massage Therapy $150.00

    *Fees may change without notice.

  • Health Insurance

    Health Insurance charges are charged to all students enrolled in 9 or more credits in a degree or certificate program.

    • Fall (9/1/2018 through 8/31/2019) — $1,879.00
    • Spring (1/1/2019 through 8/31/2019) — $1,254.00

    Information about accident and medical insurance, including a student health insurance waiver form is available online at https://www.gallagherstudent.com/berkshire 

  • MASSPIRG

    All day students are automatically charged a $9 contribution each semester to the Massachusetts Public Interest Issues Research Group (MASSPIRG).

    Students who wish to waive the fee can do so at http://www.berkshirecc.edu/srf

  • Miscellaneous Fees

    Depending on the needs and circumstances of each student, the following fees may apply:

    • Challenge Exam – $30.00 per credit
    • Clinical Makeup – $50.00 per makeup
    • Convenience Fee for Credit Card Payments – 2.50%
    • Late Payment/Reinstatement – $100.00 per semester
    • Life Experience – $30.00 per credit
    • Payment Plan Application Fee – $30.00 (non-refundable)
    • Registration Fee – $40 per semester (waived for students registered during Priority Registration)
    • Returned Check – $20.00 per check
    • Science Lab Fee – $30.00 per course
    • Stop Payment Fee/Lost Check – $30.00 per check
    • Student Activity Fee (Day Students) – $30.00 per semester
    • Transcript – $5.00 per electronic copy; $6.00 per paper copy (additional $4.00 for same-day service) 

Billing & Payment

Students can view and pay their bills online at www.berkshirecc.edu/mybcc. Students are required to respond to their bills, even if payment is covered by financial aid or another source, by submitting the Required Response Form embedded in their online bill.

  • Semester Bills

    A bill is generated when a student registers for classes. Fall semester bills are due in mid-August and Spring semester bills are due in early January. Students who register after the bill due date are required to pay their bill within 10 days of registering. Payment for Summer and Intersession courses is due at the time of registration.

    A student’s bill is adjusted up or down for the following reasons:

    • The student adds or drops a class.
    • Waives a charge such as Student Health Insurance or MassPIRG.
    • Makes a payment or deadline
    • Financial aid is disbursed to their account.

    It is a student’s responsibility to check back and review their bill from time to time to ensure that all charges are paid in full as required.

  • Paying the Bill

    The college accepts cash, checks, American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. Payments may be made:

    • By WebAdvisor, 24 hours a day.
    • By telephone: 413-236-3043.
    • In-person at the Student Accounts office, located in Room F-108 on the first floor of the Field Administration Center on BCC's main campus in Pittsfield; or at the South County Center (343 Main Street, Great Barrington).
    • By mail to Student Accounts, Berkshire Community College, 1350 West Street, Pittsfield, MA 01201.
      Notice: Do not send cash by mail.

    Late Payments

    Payment for all terms is due as indicated on the student’s bill. Payments not received by the due date are subject to a $100.00 late fee.

  • Payment Plans

    To assist students in paying their bills, the College offers 5-month, 4-month, and 3-month payment plans depending on when the initial payment is made. More information is available on the application form which can be found embedded in the student’s online bill at www.berkshirecc.edu/mybcc.

    There is a non-refundable $30.00 application fee for setting up a payment plan. Students should plan to make their first payment and pay the application fee when they apply for a payment plan.

  • Returned Check Policy

    A check with insufficient funds is generally deposited twice and only returned to the college if it does not clear the second time. Returned checks will result in the credit being removed from the student's account, and the assessment of a $20 returned check fee. Students will be notified in writing of this action. Repayment must then be made by cash, bank check, money order, or credit card.

  • Balances at Semester's End

    Student accounts with an outstanding balance after final bills are due will be placed on hold. A series of four letters requiring immediate payment will be sent to the student. Failure to pay will result in the student's account being turned over to an approved collection company, and the student will be responsible for all collection costs and other fees incurred in the collection of the debt.

  • Refund Policy

    The college adheres to the following refund policy:

    • Non-attendance alone does not qualify a student for a refund. Students must initiate, in writing, a course drop or All College Withdrawal form; and
    • Credit course refunds are based on the student's official date of withdrawal as determined by the Registrar's Office;
    • Full refunds are granted for any course cancelled by the college; and
    • Refunds are processed within six weeks of withdrawl (refer to Per Credit Refund tables below).
    • Refund checks are mailed to the student's home address on file in the Registrar's office.
      Note: Credit card payments will be refunded to credit cards.

    Per Credit Refund Amounts
    Day & Evening Courses - 2018-2019 Academic Year*

    Fall & Spring Semesters Prior to first day of Semester**
    100%
    1 - 6 days of Semester**
    100%
    After 6th day of Semester
    0%
    Summer Courses Prior to first day of Semester**
    100%
    1 - 2 days of Semester**
    100%
    After 2nd day of Semester
    0%

    *Does not include Summer 2018
    **Refund Amount includes tuition and comprehensive fees unless otherwise noted as non-refundable.
     

Auditing Courses

A student who audits a course registers for the course but does not intend to receive credit for the course. Attendance requirements for audit students should conform with the instructor's policy for the class as a whole, unless other arrangements are made between the auditing student and the teacher.

  • Students who audit a course are normally not required to complete work assignments, take tests, or fulfill laboratory requirements. However, the auditing students may request to be allowed to participate in such activities.
  • Some courses may not be appropriate for auditing. Students who wish an audited course to appear on their transcript as an audit must register for the course, indicating "Audit" on the registration form.
  • Students who wish to change from audit to credit must complete a request form available from the Registrar's Office. The same is true for students wishing to change from credit to audit. These changes must be done before, and no later than, the mid-term grade date.
  • Financial Aid cannot be used to pay for audited courses. A student who has previously received financial aid for a course being changed from credit to audit may be liable to repay a portion of the aid received.