Centering Equity at BCC


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)

Community colleges exist in spaces where political, social and technological forces converge, fundamentally altering the educational landscape in increasingly challenging ways. Innovation in higher education must reflect a commitment to improving equitable outcomes for all of BCC's learners as well as creating a campus culture that fosters a sense of belonging for everyone. With that said, the seemingly simple addition of the word "equity" to each of the College's goals boldly reinforces this commitment throughout the strategic plan.

Over the next five years, BCC must strengthen its position as a nimble and creative leader in the Berkshires. As an institution that has received accolades for student success strategies, the College can build upon this foundation to identify and make necessary improvements. From a newly designed One Stop that creates a single point of contact for students, to a thriving Center for Teaching and Learning Innovation, the College has responded resoundingly to calls for change. Yet, this work is never done.

Stay tuned for updates coming soon on our Philosophy of Inclusion, the results and following actions of BCC's first Diversity and Equity Climate Survey, and more as part of an inclusive process to create the College's first Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Strategic Plan.

Learn More

DEI Calendar of Events

Contact Us

Toni Buckley, Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Erica Barreto, Student Diversity Programs and Belonging

BCC is committed to providing universal access to all our events. Please email or call 413-236-3075 to request disability accommodations.

BCC Strategic Plan: Equity-Centered, Equity-Actioned (PDF)

Affirmative Action Policy

Interested in Putting Social Justice into Action at BCC?

  • Students
  • Community
  • Faculty and Staff
    • Join the DEI Council and participate on a subcommittee — email for more information.
    • Attend an event – check out our calendar below.
    • Include your pronouns in your email signature.
    • Support the Not in Our County – Berkshires campaign by taking the individual pledge to unify communities throughout the county to stop hate, address bullying, and build safe, inclusive communities for all.
    • Share how are you making your classroom an equitable and inclusive learning space.
    • Share resources for other faculty (within and across disciplines).
    • If you believe that you have been harassed or discriminated against based on your sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity; race, color, national origin; religion, creed; age; disability; or based on membership in any other class protected by law or by the College's Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity and Diversity Policy, you may file a complaint with the College.
  • Committees

    DEI Council Co-Facilitators

    • 2021 – 2022: Jen Collins, Amanda Meier, and Daryl Shreve
    • 2020 – 2021: Jen Collins and Toni Buckley

    BCC Welcome Subcommittee

    • Chair: Alicia Ginsberg
    • Members: Karen Carreras-Hubbard, Julia Curletti, Lyndsay Isham-Morton, Daryl Shreve and Ana Suffish

    Check out the DEI Welcome Team: What To Do In The Berkshires

    Communications Subcommittee

    • Members: Jen Collins, Beth Lapierre, Barb Kotelnicki, Taylor Woodward and Toni Buckley

    Education Subcommittee

    • Co-chairs: Nell McCabe and Daryl Shreve
    • Members: Damien Boutillon, Alicia Ginsberg, Laurie Gordy, Sean Grady, Annette Guertin, Patty Kay, Celia Norcross, Chuck Prescott and Addie Van Deurzen

    Native Nations Subcommittee

    • Chair: Rich Kovarovic
    • Members: Christopher Laney, Adam Klepetar, Annette Guertin, Frederic MacDonald-Dennis, Laurie Gordy, Charles Prescott and Gina Stec

    Past Subcommittees

    • Best Practices subcommitte – Chair: Toni Buckley
    • Governance subcommitte – Chair: Jen Collins
    • Mission subcommittee – Chair: Charles Park
    • Budget subcommittee – Co-chairs: Alicia Ginsberg and Daryl Shreve
    • Survey subcommittee – Co-chairs: Celia Norcross and Maureen Peterson
    • Community Presence subcommittee – Chair: Karen Ruiz León; Jen Collins (now under Communications)

Calendar of Events